Herb Roasted Chicken Thighs

Remember the recipe I promised using my garden fresh herbs? Well here it is. I thought to post this half way through the process, so I don’t have pictures of it all, but it is very simple and very easy.
**If you worry about your cholesterol, this is not the recipe for you.
As for everyone else, here’s what I did.
I started with bone-in, skin on chicken thighs. I ran my finger under the skin to make a pocket for the compound butter. Compound butter is just butter with stuff mixed in.
I mixed 1 stick of softened butter with fresh chopped flat leaf Italian parsley, basil, thyme, and 6 cloves of minced garlic. I seasoned the whole mixture with salt and white pepper so the chicken is seasoned under the skin as well.
When I was done I had about a tablespoon of compound butter left and I wasn’t going to waste it or over stuff the chicken, so I came up with a great idea.
I mixed the left over butter with 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 of vegetable oil, added more salt and white pepper and tossed the chicken in it. So there was herbs and garlic under the skin and it was swimming in it!

20140624-175221-64341972.jpg
The chicken marinated for about an hour, but you could do it for a longer amount of time.
I layer the thighs on a sheet tray an roasted them for an hour in a 375 degree Fahrenheit.
Your house will smell strongly of nutty, bubbling butter and slowly caramelizing garlic, but that’s not a bad thing. πŸ˜‰

20140624-175342-64422964.jpg

The large quantity of fat in this recipe caused the chicken skin to get super crispy!

20140624-175615-64575899.jpg

Here it is! I’d recommend serving this with a salad since there’s so much fat in here, but if you don’t want to, that’s up to you. I didn’t, because I love to live on the wild side. πŸ˜‚

Try this out & enjoy?

Like, share, and comment please! 😊

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dave says:

    This one i got to try. Thanks!

    1. You’re very welcome! And thanks for checking all my posts out and liking them! Share them/ reblog them if you’d like! 😊

Leave a Reply

