Shrimp with Garlic and White Wine

I’ve gotten in the habit of cooking without taking pictures from start to finish. Sorry for that. I whipped up a quick, easy and delicious snack today.
It’s summer and heavy, decadent meals are falling out of style. Fresher, brighter dishes are coming into, and that’s what I made today.

I started with a bag of deveined shrimp. (I left the shell on because it allows for the marinade to get into it and adds a more succulent flavor.)
For the marinade I chopped 8 (YES, 8) whole cloves of garlic. I added half a teaspoon of chili flakes, about 1/4 tsp of lemon zest, 1/4 cup of white cooking wine, or any white wine you’re comfortable drinking, and an equal amount of extra virgin olive oil. I added the shrimp to the flavor bath and seasoned them with salt and black pepper.
I let the shrimp marinade in the refrigerator for 15-20 minutes because they don’t need much more time than that.

After that, I roasted the shrimp, added the marinade on top, in a 375 degree Fahrenheit oven until they were pink.

Sit yourself down, grab a napkin, (and possibly a bib), because these are fingerlicking good. They’re garlicky and aromatic, bright and light. Perfect for a summers day!

20140626-155310-57190098.jpg

P.S. If you dip the peeled shrimp in the roasting liquid, it makes it even more flavorful. πŸ‘Œ

Remember to share this post or any of my other posts if you like them. I want my blog to get around.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Those look great! I love garlicky shrimp and I love that you left the shells on. More messy when eating/peeling but the flavor is so much better that way! =)

Leave a Reply

