Charred Tomato Salsa

IMG_7498.JPG
In my search to find recipes to use up the surplus of tomatoes in my garden, another obvious one popped in my head. Salsa. Considering the fact that I also have a variety of peppers in my garden, it was a given.
To add a little chef-y touch, I began by charring the tomatoes (a combination, again, of hothouse, heirloom, and San Marzano.), 1 banana pepper, 1 cherry bomb pepper, and 1 medium onion in my stovetop grill pan to give it a deep, smoky flavor. By charring the ingredients, the flesh was only delivered an acute amount of heat, so the freshness was maintained.

IMG_7497.JPG
After everything had light grill marks (you don’t want to completely singe the vegetables), I simply diced them up. The cherry bomb peppers and onions were minced. The banana pepper and tomatoes were diced to give the salsa texture.
I combined all the ingredients in a bowl with salt to taste and a splash of apple cider vinegar for brightness; although you could use lime, lemon, or any other acid.
As simple as this is, this salsa still delivers a fresh, slightly spicy punch! And you may not consider salsa comfort food (my point of view) BUT what I say to that is: What’s more comforting than eating food that you’ve sown and harvested yourself?

IMG_7507.JPG
I also made some homemade tortilla chips for dipping. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

