Dijon-Crusted Pork Tenderloin & Food Photography!

It’s that time of year again: back to school. Back to 6 am starts and homework; the things that everyone loves (Sarcasm.) Although I’m happy about starting my senior year in high school, I’m not terribly thrilled about some of my classes. The only class I look forward to is culinary arts. (Incase I haven’t mentioned, I attend a vocational and technical school for culinary arts). And this year in my culinary class, things are getting changed up a bit. This whole year is dedicated to photographing food. I’m not a super technologically advanced gal to be dealing with the cameras, but I know this course will GREATLY help me in taking better quality pictures for this blog, etc.. So to show off what I’ve learned in just one day, I’m making Dijon-Crusted Pork Tenderloin with pictures that are (hopefully) more thrilling and pleasing to look at.
This is a very simple dish, only 4 ingredients. You can make it fast without cutting out any of the flavor. Most of the flavor from this dish comes from the Dijon mustard. Dijon is made with white wine and spices in addition to the basic ingredients.
All you’ll need is a pork tenderloin (any size you like, depending on how many you’re feeding), Dijon mustard, salt and black pepper.

IMG_7695-0.JPG
The steps are as follows and are so easy a toddler could perform them! Season the tenderloin all over with salt and a generous amount of black pepper. Next, lather on the Dijon.

IMG_7699-0.JPG

The pork tenderloin is then roasted in a fairly hot oven (400 degrees Fahrenheit) to ensure the moisture is evaporated out of the Dijon and it forms a firm, golden crust. About 30-40 minutes later (depending on the doneness you like) you’ll have an easy, elegant tasting dish!
And if you’d like a sauce to go over your juicy, tangy, moist tenderloin, whip yourself up a beurre blanc (white wine reduction with shallots and butter) to heighten the flavor of the wine in the Dijon.
Enjoy! And expect updates and most posts about my food photography class! 😊

Leave a Reply

