Food Photography: Assignment #1

IMG_7977.JPG
If you’ve come to the conclusion that food photography is just snapping a quick photo of a dish and calling it a day, you are sadly mistaken, my friend. This profession includes much more like lighting, angles, complementary props and colors, arrangement, depth, focus, and that’s not even all of it. I have a new found respect for this profession knowing it takes time, knowledge, and more time! On my first photographing assignment, I photographed New England Clam Chowder (that I prepared with a partner) for a Campbell’s soup ad. It took me an entire block (1 1/2 hours) to finish; and the results still could have been improved on.

IMG_7976.JPG
I see that I need to work on getting rid of shadowing and creating a more interesting layout. But for the first project in food photography, I’m pretty proud. ~
Look for further installations on my food photography course. 🍜🍝🍷🍴

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Savannah, thanks for posting the article on your assignment. Regarding the shadowing, here are some things you may want to think about:
    1) If you’re using artificial lighting (in the ceiling), try to place your subject directly below the light to allow for more balanced shadows.
    2) If you’re using natural light, the best time to shoot would be at around noon when the sun is more at it’s highest peak or angle in the sky. That’ll also allow for a more balanced shadow.
    3) Remember to also position yourself with the camera to make the shadows less visible in the shot (viewfinder).
    4) Also remember to not place all of the subjects too close together; otherwise, their shadows will fall on one another.

    I hope those tips will help!

    1. Thanks for the advice. That should really help & I’ll take it into consideration next time I shoot. 😊

Leave a Reply

