Puerto Rican Style Roast Pork: Pernil with Homemade Adobo

Happy New Year foodies! I hope you all had a safe, fun, and happy New Years celebration! 🎉🎊
As you can tell from the title of this post, I’m expanding my cooking style. This blog is about global flavors but I can say I’ve never made Puerto Rican food. So this is something new for you and I.
After doing my research, I came across the perfect dish, a slow roasted pork shoulder with a bold seasoning mixture called adobo. Usually Pernil is seasoned with this adobo:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2d0/68639406/files/2015/01/img_0064.jpg
We do have some in our house but only my mom cooks with it. I personally dispise cooking with premade seasoning blends (aside from curry and chili powder) so I refused to used this. In my research I discovered that adobo in the Spanish language means “marinade”, which can be interpreted in many ways. After reading this I decided to put my own twist on it, but I still focused on the main flavors: some kind of pepper, usually paprika, garlic, oregano, and citrus, usually bitter orange.
I ventured into unknown territory when I decided to make my own recipe and not use one offline (which I hate doing). So, for my adobo, I made this recipe with precise measurements for you guys! 😊 Here’s what I used.

1 skin on, bone in pork shoulder (12-14 lbs)
3 cloves of garlic plus 1 tsp garlic powder
1 whole scotch bonnet pepper
1/2 green cubanelle pepper
8-10 sprigs of thyme
1 sprig rosemary (leaves only)
2 tbsp chopped tarragon
1 tbsp plus 1 tsp dried oregano
1 1/2 tsp black pepper
3 tbsp salt
1 tbsp plus 2 tsp red wine vinegar
2 tsp chili powder
1/4 cup orange juice

I through all this into a blender and blended it until it was smooth.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2d0/68639406/files/2015/01/img_0060.jpg

Before I slathered the marinade on the skin on pork shoulder, I cut slits into the skin and flesh so the marinade was better absorbed. The pork should marinate in the refrigerator for a minimum of 2 hours, but over night is best.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2d0/68639406/files/2015/01/img_0066.jpg

When you’re ready to cook the pork, pull it out to take the chill off for about 15 minutes before you cook it.
Start the pork in a 300 degree Fahrenheit oven for 3 hours. After 3 hours, crank the temperature up to 350 for 3 more hours. Lastly, crank the oven all the way up to 400 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours to crisp the skin. All this totals up to a 7-7 1/2 hour cook time. I never said this was a quick recipe… This is the finished product.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2d0/68639406/files/2015/01/img_0125.jpg

What really makes this dish special is the adobo, so don’t use the store brought junk, personalize it! Make it your own. You could even take my recipe and add or subtract a few ingredients. Be adventurous. That’s what this blog is about anyway. I explored with this cuisine and it turned out great!

My family and I didn’t enjoy the pernil alone, however. You could make this with leftovers or make it the whole meal. Here’s what I did with the tender, moist, shredded pork.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2d0/68639406/files/2015/01/img_0086.jpg

Hope you all try this recipe out and take my advice! Make sure you share, follow, comment, and like! Let’s make 2015 big! 💕

Side Note- What’s your New Years Resolution? Comment below! 👇

Leave a Reply

