Steak Tostadas

What’s better on a hot day than a light, refreshing meal? A million dollars? Yeah, I know… But other than that, nothing! These steak tostadas give you hearty ribeye steak in a petite fashion.

img_5784Here’s how I made them.

First things first, what the heck is a tostada? In short, it’s a fried tortilla with any combination of ingredients on top. The first layer of my tostada is a creamy refried black bean. Combine  1/4 white onion, minced, 2 whole cloves of garlic (these will be pulled out later) in a pot with the flavorless oil of your choice and sauté until translucent. Next add 2 bay leaves and 8-10 coriander seeds to toast and open up their flavor. Lastly, add 1/2 can of rinsed black beans, half of a jalapeno, a squeeze of lime juice, 1/3 cup water or chicken stock, salt, and pepper. Let the beans simmer for 5-10 minutes then remove from heat and mash.

Next, the salsa. Salsas come in all shapes and sizes and today I used many of the ingredients that I have growing on my porch garden.

img_5764

I first minced a little bit of white onion and squeezed the juice half a lime over it to extract some of the raw onion flavor. Next I added quartered cherry tomatoes, although you could just chop a normal sized tomato, cherry tomatoes are just what I had. I minced half of a jalapeno, sliced one cherry bomb pepper (add or decrease amount of peppers to your liking), added salt, pepper, and torn parsley leaves. Obviously, cilantro would normally be used in a dish like this, but I’m one of the unlucky people who find cilantro to taste soapy and unpleasant, but you can substitute it in if you like it.

img_5770

I let the salsa sit and moved on to frying the tortillas. I used flour tortillas and fried them in 350 degree Fahrenheit oil until golden, then seasoned with salt.

Lastly, I seared a 1 in. thick ribeye steak, seasoned simply with salt and coarse black pepper until medium rare.

img_5774

The final step is assembly: tortilla, refried beans, steak, salsa, pickled onions (I made them but you can buy them) parsley (or cilantro) leaves and a squeeze of lime!

img_5779

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

